The 2018 ITS America Hall of Fame

The ITS Hall of Fame was established to recognize those whose contributions to the intelligent transportation profession and service to ITS America have been significant, substantial and long-standing. Inductees are selected annually based on their leadership in the intelligent transportation arena. Recipients personify achievement in the ultimate standards for a leader in the ITS field.


2018 ITS America Hall of Fame Winner

Kirk T. Steudle, Director of the Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT) since 2006, oversees MDOT’s over four billion dollar budget, and is responsible for the construction, maintenance, and operation of nearly 10,000 miles of state highways and more than 4,000 state highway bridges at a department with 2,500 employees.  He also oversees administration of a variety of multi-modal transportation programs and projects. 

Steudle is a national leader in the development of Connected and Automated Vehicle Technologies, and was the 2014-2015 Chair for the Intelligent Transportation Society of America (ITS America) Board of Directors.  He also is a member of the Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Program Advisory Committee to the U.S. Department of Transportation.  Steudle is a Past President of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) and Chairs the Standing Committee on Highways. He was a 2014 member of the National Research Council for the National Academy of Science and the 2014 Chair of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Executive Committee. He also chaired the second Strategic Highway Research Program Oversight Committee (SHRP 2) for TRB. As well as a member of numerous NCHRP panels and committees on asset and performance management. 

Mr. Steudle is a graduate of Lawrence Technological University, where he received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Construction Engineering, serves on the College of Engineering Advisory Board and he was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 2012.

ITS America Hall of Fame past Inductees:

2008: Joseph Giglio, Robert Parsons, Lyle Saxton, T. Russell Shields, Harry Voccola, Michael Walton

2009: Robert Darbelnet, Christine Johnson, William Spreitzer

2010:  Richard Braun, Francis Francois, Lester Lamm

2011: Thomas Deen, William Harris, William Millar

2012: Gerald Conover, Robert MacLennan, James Oberstar, Thomas Larson

2013: Mortimer Downey, Michael Doyle, Randell H. Iwasaki, S. Edwin Rowe

2014:  Ann Flemer, Larry Yermack, James Constantino

2015: Lawrence D. Burns, Abbas Mohaddes, Jeffery F. Paniati, William F. Powers, Joseph M. Sussman

2016: David St. Amant, Robert E. Skinner

2017: Peter Sweatman, CAVita